Sunday, January 25, 2009
The Genome Project
Every person has faults, and genetic risks that they are born with. That has always been the way it was for babies when they were born. Later, they turn into adults, and their faults and genetic diseases they have in their gene pool begin to be a problem for them. Recently, scientist have been working on unlocking the genetic code for humans. What they are trying to do is rule out diseases that we receive through our genes. Since, these scientist will be familiar with how our genes work; they will be able to make "Perfect Humans". By this they will be able to chose different qualities of the child. They will be able to choose the sex, color of eyes, color of hair, and right-handedness of their child. Some of these options these scientist are offering seem sensible, and the others seem like their playing God. I think that its good that scientist will soon be able to eliminate the risk of genetic diseases in children to come. It will be good there will be less sickness we will have to worry about. I don't agree with the fact of choosing what your child be. I don't think it is right to be able to choose what traits your child will have and what they will look like. I don't believe that is the way life is supposed to be; everything in life is left up to chance and fate; now it is being changed by people with money and people who want a perfect kid. First, it starts by changing the physical characteristics of a kid; next you will be able to choose their IQ level; and be able to choose their dominant subjects in school; which will lead to choosing their career before they are even born. The way I see it is kids will end up resenting their parents even more than they already do; because of the way they planned out their whole life; and will be someone they don't want to be. They will have a passion for something that their parents didn't choose for them; which will lead to more resentment. Furthermore, I think it would be better for kids lives to be left up to chance like it always has been, since the beginning of time.
Wednesday, January 21, 2009
Youtube Response
It appears to me that most of the articles are saying that with technology, we have become lazy. They say that we have no skill and we are not as smart as kids our age in the past. Everyone has heard of youtube; and chances are they have used it. Sometimes we can be careless and not think about what we are doing, so we post things on websites that could have consequences for us in the long run. For example some people record themselves doing something the shows them breaking the law. They think they are safe because no one will be able to trace who is in the video, because they think they are protected by their usernames. Chances are when you are on the internet you leave a trail behind and thats how the authorities catch you. I think that the reason other countries are getting banned from youtube is because they are just being careless, just like everyone can be at times. It makes me think that since these countries have been banned from youtube, who is going to be next? Possibly the U.S. I don't think that it is fair for everyone of one country to be banned from any site; just because someone was careless about what they put online. Now we all have to suffer, because of their mistake they made. I think that we all should be more careful on what we do when on the internet and also what we put up for others to see, because you never know who might read it, and it might come back to get you in the end.
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)